Presidential Dollar Series Coins are upon us! The US Mint has unveiled the designs of the first four presidential dollar coins to be introduced in February 2007. They are magnificent and herald a collectible dollar series sure to surpass the benchmarks set by the phenomenal Statehood Quarter program. Beginning with George Washington, four presidents a year will be introduced in the order of their years in office. Offering a number of firsts, the new golden President Dollar Revers edollars are sure to find their way quickly into collections worldwide. Incused or recessed inscriptions on the edge of the new Presidential Dollar Series coins will read, “In God We Trust” and “E Pluribus Unum.” The edge will also bear the mintmark and date the coins were minted. The coin will be the first circulating US coin not to contain the word “Liberty”. The reverse of the Presidential Dollar Series coins will feature this important ideal with an elegant portrait of the Statue of Liberty.

Important Facts:

• To be eligible for the Presidential Dollar Series coins the President must have been deceased for a minimum of 2 years.
• There will be 1 coin issued for each consecutive presidency.
• Grover Cleveland is the only President that will be featured on 2 different Presidential Dollar Series coins, one for each of his non-consecutive Presidential terms–1885-1889 and 1893-1897.